HISTORY Of our District                                                                         IIW THEME



Inner Wheel movement started in the eastern part of our country in 1961with the formation of Inner Wheel Club of South West Calcutta. Late Mrs.Arati Dutta was the founder President and Mrs.Roja Bradney was founder Secretary of this club. The club was inaugurated by the then Dist. Governor Rtn.Rahim Khan of Bangladesh (then Bangladesh was in RI District 325, which is now Dist.3291) on 21st August, 1961. The Charter was presented by DG Rtn.Karim.

Inner Wheel Club of South Calcutta, Darjeeling and Guahati were formed within few years.

In 1976, the Association of Inner Wheel Clubs in India and Bangladesh were formed under the leadership of Association President of Mrs.Raksha Mehta ; our Inner Wheel District 329 was formed in 1977 with 4 Clubs - South West Calcutta, South Calcutta, Darjeeling and Guahati. Mrs.Arati Srimal was the founder District Chairman and Mrs.Purnima Choudhury was the founder District Secretary.

IWC Calcutta Mid Town was the 5th Inner Wheel Club in our District which was formed by PDC Mrs.Gyan Swarup and she brought out the first Chairman's Newsletter. Our members attended all the Triennial Conferences starting from 2nd Triennial which was held at Bhopal.

During the tenure of  DC Sumi Agrawal (1984-85) the thrust was on consolidation of existing clubs. For the first time a mega fund raising was held to create a very healthy bank account for the District. The bifurcation of Bangladesh into a new Dist.(328) happened .An Assn Council meeting was hosted by our Dist.

The District never looked back many clubs were formed in India and Bangladesh. Most of the Clubs in Bangladesh were  formed under  the  leadership of  PDC Mrs.Dhara Roy.  The District got bifurcated in the tear 1992 - 1993  and District 324 was formed. District 328 in Bangladesh was also formed.

Several times Association Council Meetings were also hosted at the tenure of :  District Chairman Mrs.Sumi Agrawal ( 1984 -85) District Chairman Mrs.Madhulekha Sen (1992 - 93) District Chairman Mrs.Shubhalakshmi Roy Choudhury (1996-97)

At the tenure of Past District Chairman Madhulekha Sen (1992-93), Dr.(Mrs) Lalita Seth became the Association President from our District 329 who was installed by IPAP Mrs.Asha Bajaj at a glittering ceremony at Taj Bengal. The installation programme was attended by the delegates from almost all the IW Districts of our Association, Rotarians, guests including Past International President Mrs.Minna Kapoor who lit the lamp and delivered her powerful speech. Next day  our District also hosted the 1st Executive Committee Meeting of Association.

During the tenure of District Chairman  Mrs.Vijaya Mohan (1993-94) the District organised a Multi District Intercity Meet. International President Mrs.Anita Agarwal attended this programme as our chief guest and she was felicitated in a befitting manner.

Silver Jubilee Celebration was held in the year 2002 -2003 when the District Chairman was Mrs.Shikha Sanyal. This grand celebration was graced by Association President Mrs.Geetha Padmanaban.

During the the tenure of District Chairman Mrs.Basabi Mitra (2004-05) a Multi District Intercity Meet was held to celebrate Golden Jubilee of Inner Wheel in India.      

PDC Mrs.Vijaya Mohan served as Association Secretary in 1994 - 95. She also served as Deputy National Representative in 1999 - 2000. Dr.(Mrs) Bhabani Dhar has been elected as the Association Secretary for the year 2008-09. In her tenure as Chairman, our District hosted the "District Chairmen's Training Institute" at     Kolkata. The District website was launched when Dr.Bhabani became the Chairman.

District Chairman Mrs.Rupa Mukherjee (2012-13) organized East Zone Seminar "Synergy" which was a interactive training programme. Association Office Bearers and members of neighboring Districts attended this Seminar.

PDC Mamta Agarwal has added another feather to our Dist. She has been elected as Assn. Vice President for the year 2014-15. This will give our District a great opportunity  to host the 14th Triennial conference in  2015-16 in Calcutta for the first time.

 The most unique feature is, three sisters Mrs.Sarbani Ghosh (1990-91) Dr.Shibani Das (1999-2000) and Dr.Bhabani Dhar  (2007-08)  became District Chairman from this District 329.  


Author's Name: Webmaster
Contact address:
URL of page
Updated: 04 Oct 2014

     Back to Home             Back to Top